Artisan Vegan Cheese: Smoky Air-Dried Gouda

I don’t know if you are familiar with the hugely popular book, Artisan Vegan Cheese by Miyoko Schinner, but you should be! The recipes are out of this world. I have only made two so far and they were happily devoured in record time. I know that there is a great variety of vegan cheeses on the market, but there is something so satisfying about making your own cheese at home.

The first recipe I tried was Philadelphia-Style Cream Cheese. I wrote a post about it in October. I am not a fan of Tofutti and Miyoko’s recipe was a dream come true. It is tangy, creamy, and smooth. Dozens of bagels were made in celebration.

Herby Cream Cheese 02

Earlier this week, I made the Air-Dried Gouda recipe. The only change I made was adding about a 1/2 teaspoon of liquid smoke. The outcome was unbelievable! It is the most delicious tasting cheese!! I must admit that I lost patience with the air-drying method (partially due to living in the Pacific Northwest = damp apartments = not ideal for air-drying homemade cheeses) and put it in the fridge after three days. It still slices, shreds, and spreads even though it isn’t super firm. Tim and I made mac-n-cheese, pizza, and a vegetable casserole with some of the gouda. We also enjoyed a good portion of it spread on crusty bread:

Smoky Gouda 02December Photo Project 2012: Day #12

Sadly, it is now gone (= time to make more!). I highly recommend this book. If you don’t have a copy, get one and start experimenting!! The two cheese recipes I made could fool an omnivore. They are that good. I will post more about this book as I make more of the recipes!

dpp_banner_200x200