Somewhere in Middle America

Hello, everybody! I hope that springtime is bringing plenty of warmth and sunshine to your part of the world. Right now I am in Omaha, NE and it is neither sunny nor warm. The weather forecast seems promising though, so I might see some blue sky before I head back to Portland later next week. Maybe!

I arrived in Omaha a few days ago to help Isa Moskowitz test dozens of pie recipes for her and Terry Romero’s forthcoming cookbook: Pie in the Sky. So far we have made an amazing variety of delicious pies including little lemon mousse pies, halvah tarts, coconut curry pie, blackberry cheesecake, chai spiced rice pudding pie, and basil peach pie. There are still a lot of pies to be made (and sampled!).

On Saturday we will be baking all day for Vegan Omaha’s Bake Sale for Japan, happening on Sunday, April 3rd. I will be making big batches of brownies and there’s a good chance some pie will make its way to the bake sale too!

I haven’t taken too many pictures, but here are some highlights:

Crunchy Munchee Salad with Hempini Dressing from McFoster’s. This salad was incredibly crunchy!! I enjoyed the dressing, which was a blend of hemp butter, Bragg’s, lemon juice, garlic, and peanut butter. I washed this salad down with a 4-ounce shot of fresh pressed ginger juice. It was strong, but I love how ginger tames my tummy.

A teeny slice of Little Lemon Mousse Pie (recipe will be in the book). Isa and I made these this afternoon and they turned out absolutely perfect!! They remind me of lemon meringue pies, but so much better (and vegan!). Plus, they are so dang cute!

Halvah Tarts! Considering I am a tahini addict, it’s not a surprise that I enjoyed my samplings of this treat. Tahini and chocolate, yes indeed!!!

Kirby. Not a pie obviously, but one of Isa’s three cats. Kirby joined me on the table for breakfast the other morning. He is so soft and cuddly.

Tomorrow brings more pie and perhaps more pictures! Stay tuned…