A Bit of Backlog and Buns Take Two

I just realized that it has been quite some time since I had an actual food post. I guess I have been busy, though perhaps that is a silly excuse. I have definitely been making plenty of tasty meals and treats, but not taking too many pictures. What follows are photos I did manage to take of some of my favorite meals from the past week.

I recently purchased Skinny Bitch in the Kitch by Rory Freedman and Kim Barnouin. I love the writing style of these two women…they make me laugh, a lot! Flipping through the pages, I came across a simple and appealing recipe (which also happened to be delicious!) -┬áSteamed Veggies and Tofu with Brown Rice.

Over this past weekend, I made a dinner consisting of produce in my fridge that was creeping up on expiration. I don’t have a name for this meal, but here is what it consisted of: whole grain couscous with red chard, marinated portobellos, a dollop of basil pesto, and slivered almonds. Yes, I know that sounds like a weird combination, but it was really good! It was also quick to prepare (minus the marinating) and filling. I don’t usually enjoy eating the same meal two nights in a row, but this meal was an exception (so was the previous meal pictured above…maybe I am becoming more tolerant of leftovers?!).

And now some dessert! It reached about 95 degrees in Portland on Saturday…too hot for me! I was outside for awhile and then retreated indoors to make a cooling treat: Banana-Berry Sorbet. I put a cup of frozen raspberries and two chopped frozen bananas into my food processor and blended them until smooth. I then added enough Strawberry-Banana VitaSoy to make a nice consistency. I transferred this mixture to a freezer-safe container and let it firm up for about an hour. All I can say is, this really cooled me off and made me happy! I liked that it wasn’t super sweet, but refreshing instead! Plus, it was incredibly simple to make.

Oh! I almost forgot! The buns! My boyfriend made his second batch of Celine’s awesome buns. These turned out beautifully. They were a might bit monstrous (meaning really BIG), but that is because Tim has some unexplainable relationship with yeast. He talks to it, and that helps create the craziest dough I have ever seen (in about 30 minutes or less!!! It’s true!). The buns are an integral component of a birthday meal I am making for my good friend. I am planning on taking pictures of the food tomorrow night, so there may be a future post with all the goodness. I’ll say goodnight with a picture of some fine buns: