nyl skincare: a review

Here’s a little known fact: I love bodycare products. This obsession goes back to my adolescence — a time when I had multiple collections of lip balms, lotions, soaps, and fizzy bath salts. Can’t blame a girl for wanting to smell pretty and have soft skin, right?

When I went vegan, I was happy to discover a whole new world of bodycare products that were much better than anything in the silly little collections of my youth. And even though I have my favorites, it’s always exciting to try different brands.

Recently nyl skincare contacted me and asked if I would be interested in reviewing their brand and products. I was familiar with their Gentle Sugar Body Polish (amazing, amazing, amazing!) since it was part of the March Vegan Cuts snack box I posted about earlier, so I gratefully accepted the offer (Thank you, Carol!).

If you’ve never heard of nyl skincare, you’re in for a treat!!! The entire product line is vegan, cruelty-free, gluten-free, eco-friendly, and made with pure and simple ingredients (no icky toxins!). They use the EWG’s Skin Deep Cosmetics Database to check all of their ingredients and only use those that rank in the “low hazard” range. In fact, you could eat the products if you wanted to, but then your skin would be sad. What I love about nyl is that their products are handmade weekly in a kitchen, not a big ol’ factory. The point is, nyl skincare makes luxurious, moisturizing products that are good for your body and the earth.

Here is what I received:

nyl group 03

1.) Organic Gentle Sugar Body Polish – A simple, organic blend of unbleached cane sugar, rosehip seed oil, meadowfoam seed oil, grape seed oil, and essential oils. I LOVE this stuff! It has a wonderful, uplifting citrus scent and exfoliates and moisturizes my skin really well. A little bit goes a long way, which is a huge bonus.

2.) Organic Whipped Hand & Body Lotion – This magical, non-greasy concoction is made weekly by hand, with the date noted on the container. It’s creamy and absorbs well into the skin. If you have troublesome dry patches, this lotion will be your new best friend. It has the same uplifting scent as the body polish.

3.) Organic Foaming Castile Hand Soap in Fresh Citrus – I’m a big fan of foamy hand soaps and this one does not disappoint. It lathers up well, smells nice, and made my hands soft. The gentle formula won’t irritate your skin, so if you have sensitivities, this is a pure and simple solution.

4.) Velvet Transformative Serum – If you’re looking to fight the signs of aging (I know I am, even though I’m not terribly old… Preventative maintenance!), this serum nourishes and restores balance to all skin types and transforms mature skin. I loved how quickly this dry oil disappeared into my skin. Plus, it’s rich in vitamin C and antioxidants! I mostly use it around my eyes because years of constant scowling smiling have left teeny wrinkles. :) A little dab will do your skin some serious good.

5.) Organic Rosewater Face Wash – Rosewater is known for its astringent, toning properties. The minimal ingredient list in this product = a very effective cleanser that is also gentle and moisturizing. The smell of rosewater reminds me of my grandma, but I promise you won’t smell like an old lady when you use this face wash.

nyl face wash 01

You should definitely check out nyl skincare’s website to learn more about the company and their incredible product line. You can even buy sample sizes for traveling! There is also a starter kit that includes most of the products above so you can try a little bit of everything. Go on, make your skin extra happy.

Thanks again, Carol, for the opportunity to sample your product line. Now I just have to exercise product portion control. :)

4 thoughts on “nyl skincare: a review

  1. Ooh I love bodycare products too but I’m so bad at following through with them. I also know I could do a lot better seeking out vegan products. I have really sensitive skin and a lot of the medicated stuff I use is not vegan but the body lotion sounds wonderful. I’ll check these out, thank you! It’s good to support smaller businesses (esp vegan ones!) like this.

    • Hi Maud! I tend to have finicky skin too. The lotion has been wonderful for moisturizing without irritation. It also made my skin really soft. Plus, the fragrance is very subtle and uplifting. Woohoo!

Leave a Reply

