Lately

It’s officially spring which explains the complex mixture of hail, rain, sunshine, clouds, and blue skies we are experiencing in Portland. I need to walk around with my camera more because a few days ago the aforementioned weather patterns collided and made a massive full double rainbow in the sky. Or maybe, just maybe, I need one of those snazzy smartphones. It was a beautiful rainbow but you’ll have to imagine what it looked like since I have no hard proof.

Life is keeping me busy, but not enough for me to neglect the blog! Here are some fun highlights from the last few weeks:

GF 03

Aaron Ash, the owner of Gorilla Food in Vancouver, B.C., came to Herbivore to do a raw food demo, Q&A, and book signing last weekend. We had a full house and got to sample some delicious food: ginger nori crackers, guacamole, chile almonds, and vegan sushi! I went home that evening and put a batch of the ginger nori crackers in my dehydrator because they were the best crackers I’d ever tasted. And I happen to know a thing or fifty about tasty crackers. Aaron is mighty talented and you should check out his book!

Pasta Dinner 01I’ve been cooking solo recently because Tim is traveling for work. Usually I end up eating a lot of burritos when he’s away because cooking by myself is way less fun. And I have to do the dishes – lame! So my meals are minimal attempts at best. Last night I had a surge of energy, most likely from eating too many of these (make them! they rule!). With boosts of spirit, I made a baked pasta dish consisting of penne, pesto, tomato sauce, cashew cream, sauteed mushrooms, and lots of fresh parsley. It was good. Although, not the best meal to eat while watching Workaholics.

And lastly, I’ve been busy with freelance writing assignments. There’s an exciting one with a recipe/giveaway coming up very soon. Follow the Vegan Cuts blog so you don’t miss it! I’ll give you a hint: it involves carrots and sugar. Hmmmm… !!!

That’s all for now. Hope you’re all well and enjoying the weekend.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Lately

Leave a Reply

