Vegan Eats World: Takeout Stir-Fry Noodles with Mushrooms & Greens

As promised, this week will feature recipe reviews from Vegan Eats World by Terry Hope Romero. Last night Tim and I made the Takeout Stir-Fry Noodles with Mushrooms and Greens (page 231). We were in the mood for something quick, filling, and full of flavor. Plus, I LOVE noodles. We were pleased with this meal. In fact, Tim devoured his portion before I was halfway through mine.

Terry mentions that this recipe will sharpen your stir-fry skills and it’s completely true. Tim and I purchased a hand-hammered wok from The Wok Shop over the summer. It is a gorgeous piece of art and so fun to use when cooking stir-frys. We are definitely not wok pros, but this recipe gave us a bit of an edge.

The recipe consists of noodles, shiitakes mushrooms, Asian greens (we used bok choy), and a well-flavored sauce. There is an option to add seitan (or tofu) using other recipes from the book. We took advantage of that by using some seitan we purchased at Food Fight the other day. We rarely buy canned food; this seitan is a special exception.

In total, this meal took just under 40 minutes to prepare. The variety of texture, abundance of noodles, tasty sauce, and earthy mushrooms made this meal a new favorite. Not much can beat a steaming bowl of delicious noodles on a cold and rainy night. Well, free s’mores can, but noodles are MUCH more nutritious!!

Oh, I just joined Pinterest today. Are you on Pinterest? I have no idea what I am doing yet – but I will learn eventually. Follow me if you want (the link is below my blog roll), or give me some guidance in the comment section of this post.