Brownies (and Giveaway Winner)!!

Do you want to know who won the Food Fight t-shirt giveaway?! I will reveal the answer at the end of this post. Mean, I know… Perhaps a recipe will make up for it?

A few years ago I was feverishly writing an all vegan (of course!) brownie book. My plan at the time had been to create all the recipes and then find a publisher. Well, I did write a lot of recipes and then I got sick of brownies and some dumb stuff happened in my life that put my motivation on the back burner. I don’t have any immediate plans to finish the book, but I do still love baking brownies. Plus, I am nearly finished with a sweet lil’ vegan cookzine that features a brownie recipe, so it all works out! In the meantime I figured it might be nice to share an updated version of my classic brownie recipe!

This recipe is very simple. It yields relatively fudgy, super chocolatey brownies. Feel free to stir in fun ingredients like chopped cookies, peanut butter cups, chocolate chips, nuts, marshmallows… You get the idea. Want a gluten-free version? You are in luck, click here.

Basic Fudgy Brownies

2/3 cup warm water
3 tablespoons ground flax seeds
1/2 cup softened coconut oil
1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips (please use fair trade/organic!)
1 cup organic sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/2 cup cocoa powder
1 1/3 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
3/8 teaspoon salt
1 cup mix-ins, optional (I used Newman O cookies)

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and lightly grease a 9-inch square baking pan.
2. In a glass measuring cup, vigorously whisk together the water and ground flax seeds. Set aside to thicken.
3. In a small saucepan over medium heat, melt the coconut oil. Add in the chocolate chips and whisk until smooth. Stir in the sugar and vanilla extract. Remove from heat and allow to cool slightly.
4. In a large bowl, stir together dry ingredients. Pour in flax mixture and chocolate mixture. Stir well to incorporate. The batter will be thick. Stir in any mix-ins and spread batter into prepared pan.
5. Bake for 18-22 minutes or until mostly set. Allow brownies to cool for about 30 minutes and then transfer to the refrigerator to set for several hours. Please don’t skip this step! The  brownies turn magically fudgy in the fridge.
6. Cut into squares and serve!

Now it’s time to announce the winner of my giveaway. It’s… Maud, from Food Feud!!! Congratulations!!! You are the new owner of an awesome t-shirt! I will send you an e-mail shortly so we can arrange shipment of your prize. For everybody else, don’t be sad. I have another giveaway coming up soon, and it’s a good one! See you all tomorrow!!