Hello October!

I am writing this post in the final dwindling hours of September. It is still warm and sunny in Portland, but I long for clouds, rain, and cooler temperatures. I am hoping that by eating comforting meals, the weather will take a hint! For example, a few nights ago Tim and I made the Snobby Joes recipe from Veganomicon. I turned mine into a bowl meal by adding roasted potatoes and chunks of avocado. It was pretty spectacular!

It’s been a remarkable past few weeks. I am falling into place at my new job and loving every minute. Tim and I went on a hike a few days ago and enjoyed lunch amidst lots of waterfalls.

And finally, I will be participating in the 2012 Vegan Month of Food! I always hesitate because it is a big time commitment, but I love the motivation and challenge it provides me. I tend to be a creature of habit, often cooking and baking my favorite recipes over and over. So, my theme for Vegan MoFo will be to make recipes I have never made before, making sure to use a different cookbook/magazine (from my ever-growing collection) each time. It should be fun! Check back tomorrow to see what sort of nonsense I stir up.