Omaha Adventures & Hearty Vegan Giveaway Winner

Hello everybody! I am sure you are all extremely eager to find out who won the Hearty Vegan giveaway, right? Well I am posting the winner at the end of this post, after I fill you in on some fun adventures.

I spent the last week brunching with friends, testing recipes in Omaha, NE for Isa Moskowitz (did you know that she is writing the dessert section of the (forthcoming) new Forks Over Knives cookbook?), modeling a new PPK/Teal Cat Project t-shirt, and celebrating Tim’s 35th birthday. I love spending time eating with friends, working with Isa, and lounging around in my jammies eating cake with Tim. So far this year is off to a good start. Here are some photographic highlights:

Cinnamon Pear Pancakes from Blossoming Lotus in Portland, OR

Seitan Rancheros from Blossoming Lotus in Portland, OR

Apricot Fig Bars (Isa tester recipe)

Peach Muffins (Isa tester recipe)

Raspberry Jam Dots (Isa tester recipe)

Sweet Potato Enchiladas from Pepe’s Veggie-Mex Bistro in Lincoln, NE

Crystallized Ginger Muffin from Maggie’s Vegetarian Wraps in Lincoln, NE (ugly photo, delicious muffin!)

Above is an outtake from the t-shirt photo shoot, you can see the chosen photo here. Please consider purchasing one of these amazing t-shirts. Proceeds go to The Teal Cat Project so that they can continue helping kitties in need of some extra love. And we all love kitties, right?

Unfortunately, I returned home from Omaha in the late evening on Tim’s birthday. We had a quick dinner and caught up on our eight days apart. I made him a cake today, but there are no photos. It’s just nice to be back in his company once again!

And now… The winner of the Hearty Vegan Meals for Monster Appetites giveaway! I had so much fun reading about all of your favorite hearty meals. I myself love thick, filling soups. OK, here we go… Commenter #38, Sarah! Congratulations!! I will contact you via e-mail so we can arrange shipment of your book! To everybody else, stay tuned for more giveaways next month.

 

 

13 thoughts on “Omaha Adventures & Hearty Vegan Giveaway Winner

  1. those testers look so marvelous! I need to get to PDX so I can eat at Blossoming Lotus…every time I see a blog post about a meal there it always looks so spectacular!

    • Blossoming Lotus is pretty spectacular, but I rarely make it there myself, and I live less than a mile away!

      The tester recipes for Isa are indeed marvelous. And, low in fat so there is no guilt in over-indulging a bit :)

  2. Omaha looks fun and delicious. I just got home from a visit to Wisconsin and was impressed by the amount of vegan stuff we found there. Also, I’m on the teal cat website ordering shirts for me and my Tim right now. They’re so adorable :)

Leave a Reply

