A Year in Review Part I

This past year was filled with personal challenges, new discoveries, uncountable moments of joy, plenty of off road exploration, and a few disappointments (have to balance everything out, right?). When a new year begins, I like to think it’s the perfect time to start fresh and clean. But in reality, I know that a day is just a day and no matter what year it is, all of my years average out to be pretty similar. I’m a fan of consistency after all.

Capturing my life on camera is my favorite way to look back on the times that made me smile. As somebody who struggles with depression, it’s always nice to have those reminders. So, let’s take a look at Part I of the highlights of 2011:

January:

Portland experienced a mild winter that gave Tim and I plenty of opportunities to ride around town on our bikes. One of my favorite rides was to St. Johns for a birthday lunch (for Tim) at Proper Eats. I also baked and ate a lot of brownies in January!

February 2011:

Snowshoeing adventures with friends and grape soda cupcakes (for my 34th birthday) kept me energetic. I also got a job as a personal assistant and celebrated by playing on the merry-go-round with Tim at a local park.

March 2011:

I flew to Omaha, NE to help Isa Moskowitz bake a ton of pies for her now released Vegan Pie in the Sky (co-authored with Terry Hope Romero) book. I enjoyed some of the best falafel I’ve ever tasted while I was there. Tim and I took advantage of more gorgeous Pacific Northwest weather and filled our open days with hiking and snowshoeing adventures. We were in the company of amazing wildlife!

April 2011:

Vegan bake sales (one in Omaha and one in Portland) kept my apron tied tight and my face covered in flour. A fun road trip to Salem, OR filled an entire day with new explorations. Testing recipes for my friend Kittee’s cookzine kept my tummy full of exciting new foods.

May 2011:

Tim and I took a trip to Seattle to visit with friends and enjoy the best vegan pizza in the world. Seriously, our friends Dave and Kim know how to make pizza happen! I also befriended the coolest kitty on my block: Ignacious. He dances and twists and spins on the sidewalk.  I also spent way too much time photographing the sparrows that sit outside my kitchen window.

June 2011:

One of my dear friends from college (Hi Amy!) visited Portland and it was so much fun spending the day with her and her husband. My dad also visited for a day while he was in town for work. And, I helped my friend Kittee build a garden in her backyard.

Stay tuned for Part II of my Year in Review tomorrow! Hope everybody is enjoying the holiday season with loved ones :)


10 thoughts on “A Year in Review Part I

  1. What a great year captured with great photos… part one :). My guy’s name is also Tim, we live in Portland, and love Proper Eats. Looking forward to part two.

Leave a Reply

