“B” is for Blueberry Vinaigrette

Despite the disappearance of sunshine in Portland, I’m still eating salad like it’s the middle of summer. Today I decided to make some vinaigrette for a raw kale salad that is on tonight’s dinner menu. The last of my frozen (hand-picked) summer blueberries disappeared into a massive smoothie last week but I really wanted blueberries in my salad dressing. What to do, what to do… As luck would have it, there are still a few jars of homemade blueberry jam in my pantry! So, I whipped up a blueberry vinaigrette in a matter of minutes. It is tangy, fruity, and simply delicious. I have yet to toss it with kale and sliced almonds, but I know it will be tummy pleasing :)

Easy Blueberry Vinaigrette

1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
2 Tablespoons blueberry jam (my jam is very low in sugar, but use whatever you prefer)
Small pinch of salt
Freshly ground black pepper, to taste

Combine all ingredients in a glass jar. Put on the lid, and shake, shake, shake! Store in the fridge.