Start Spreading the New Cream Cheeses!

Last month Galaxy Nutritional Foods sent me samples of their new vegan cream cheese spreads. I received two flavors: Classic Plain and Chive & Garlic (both are non-GMO, gluten-free, and non-hydrogenated).

My testing procedure was hardly unique. I simply walked a few blocks to the local bagel shop, purchased some fresh bagels, and headed home to make sandwiches. Clever, right? I figured a sandwich was more exciting than simply toasting a bagel and slathering it with cream cheese (although I eventually tried that method too!).

This particular sandwich consisted of the Chive & Garlic cream cheese spread, roasted red peppers, carrots, cucumber, and spinach. It was amazing! The savory cream cheese was a lovely addition. I think I would have preferred a stronger garlic flavor, but overall, this cream cheese was tip-top notch.

Next, I sampled the Classic Plain cream cheese spread on toasted bagels for breakfast. I rarely buy vegan specialty items like cream cheese since they taste pretty terrible (hello, Tofutti). However, Galaxy’s cream cheese is a whole different story. I definitely prefer it over Tofutti. The taste reminded me of dairy cream cheese, smooth with a slight tang and no weird aftertaste (or smell). I wanted to make a sweet cream cheese filling for some whoopie pies, but I never got around to experimenting. I think that is the true test for a vegan cream cheese.

My only complaint about Galaxy’s cream cheese spreads is that they spoil quickly. In less than two weeks both tubs were starting to mold. To be fair, the product recommends using within 10 days so I was warned in advance. I don’t think this would be much of an issue if you go through an 8-ounce tub of cream cheese with ease (making cream cheese frosting for a carrot cake would be a good example!). When the need for vegan cream cheese strikes, I will absolutely reach for Galaxy’s spreads. Thank you, Galaxy, for sending me samples!