Meals in Bowls

I recently had a discussion with a friend about our love for meals in bowls. You can put any combination of ingredients in a bowl and make a delicious, healthy, filling meal (just like tacos and burritos!). For a long time I was hooked on the Greenie Tahini Bowl (recipe acquired from a blog no longer in existence called VegTriathlete), which consisted of brown rice, broccoli, kale, and pan-fried tofu with the most amazing tahini sauce. It was my go-to meal when I didn’t feel like being adventurous in the kitchen. Since then, I have made/enjoyed an abundance of meals in bowls:

Thai Peanut Noodles with Stir-Fried Veggies from Voluptuous Vegan

Grilled Pineapple Tofu with Greens and Rice from Vegan Yum Yum

Original Yumm Bowl, customized from Cafe Yumm!

Carrot & Burdock Kinpira from The Kind Diet

Simple Rice Bowl from my kitchen

Kittee’s Mac-n-Cheese with Kale Chips from Kittee

Southwest Bowl from Blossoming Lotus

Can you tell that I use the same white bowl (and lots of chopsticks) a lot?! I’m not one to stockpile a bunch of dishes in my kitchen, so the white bowl gets plenty of love.

What are your favorite meals in bowls?

P.S. I’m heading out of town in a few days for a very exciting job/project (!) so blogging may come to a slow trickle… More on that when I return :)

 

 

14 thoughts on “Meals in Bowls

  1. Looks like the white bowl can hold a good amount of delicious food too; I need something like that.
    I like quinoa tossed with roasted vegetables and covered in some sort of sauce or gravy.

  2. Similar to the Southwest Bowl, burrito bowls are a staple round these parts: everything you’d cram into a burrito, minus the tortilla. Brown rice, pinto beans, homemade salsa, fresh chopped avocado, sometimes corn and puhleeeeenty of cilantro and lime! Sometimes we throw in a plantain, too, if we have a ripe one in the kitchen.

    • I love meals in bowls for many reasons, but one is that you don’t have to sit at the dinner table to enjoy them! Sometimes I like to watch movies while I eat mine – no mess!

  3. Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous! I would gladly try any one of those meals, they all look delicious. My favorite bowl meals are usually some type of stir-fry or curry over a grain. I don’t think I can pick one specific favorite.

  4. Hmmm, those looks delicious, all of them.
    One of my favourites also is the Grilled pineapple tofu with greens and rice! Only, I don’t add the coconutmilk in the sauce, because I’m not fond of coconuts (I know, apperently that’s weird)… All kinds of pasta are perfect meals in bowls, and I love all kinds of pasta!

    • I love all kinds of pasta too – in fact, that was my meal in a bowl last night :) It’s probably good that you don’t like coconuts because their products can be expensive!

    • Hi Ingrid! I don’t have an exact recipe for the tahini sauce (I lost the original recipe a while ago), but I can give you a rough guide:

      1/2 cup tahini
      juice from one lemon
      1-2 Tablespoons tamari (or Bragg’s, soy sauce, etc)
      1″ knob of fresh ginger, chopped or minced finely
      2 garlic cloves, minced
      !/4 cup parlsey, chopped
      enough water to thin the sauce to your liking (usually for me it’s just over a cup)
      seasonings to taste (salt, pepper, cayenne, etc)

      Essentially I just whisk everything in a small bowl and pour over my meal! Easy!

Leave a Reply

