Chive Talkin’

Six months ago you couldn’t have paid me to eat chives. I grew up with a serious aversion to onions and anything that was related to or smelled like an onion. I was a pro at detecting the teeniest bit of onion in my meals. I created art forms with the neglected piles of onions on my plate. It’s been a few years since I introduced the mighty onion into my world, willingly. I can touch, chop, and cook onions all by myself now (and eat them!). However, icky chives were still on my list of gag-inducing foods – that is until I was making recipes for Isa’s Appetite for Destruction cookbook in July 2010. One of the recipes taught me to love chives.

The recipe that gave chives such a positive reputation? Green Goddess Dressing. I was making extra batches of this stuff last summer to sustain myself. If somebody dared me to drink a glass of Green Goddess Dressing I would not hesitate. Really. Out of the blue today I remembered my love for Green Goddess Dressing. Imagine my excitement when I discovered all the necessary ingredients were stocked in my kitchen! The dressing comes together quickly and requires very little effort. It even has a healthy dose of tahini in it! I chopped up a cucumber and doused it with dressing:

Do you see the little owls on the bowl? They like Green Goddess Dressing too.