Soup it Up

It’s no secret that chilly weather and soup complement one another nicely. I love soup for two main reasons:  (1) it is incredibly easy to make, and (2) you can enjoy it with bread/rolls. I suppose the fact that it is nurturing, warming, and delicious helps too.

I gave Tim a copy of Vegan Soul Kitchen by Bryant Terry for Christmas and we have been enjoying some of the recipes over the last few weeks. One of our favorites was the Potato Rosemary Soup. We halved the recipe and had enough for several meals. The portions were generous too. Yukon potatoes made the soup a beautiful, bright yellow and the subtle rosemary flavor was just perfect. If you own Vegan Soul Kitchen, I recommend making this soup – it’s thick, creamy, filling, and fantastic! Tim used to hate soup and every time we make soup he claims the current bowl his new favorite. Right now, this soup is his favorite.

Hope you are all keeping warm and cozy (at least in the Northern hemisphere)!

12 thoughts on “Soup it Up

  1. Nice photo; that soup definitely looks beautiful and rosemary is one of my favorite flavors. I made a soup today too and love how filling they always are!
    How is that Vegan Soul Kitchen? I’ve never given Bryan Terry’s recipes much attention but they seem good.

    • Soup is pretty wonderful, isn’t it? I’ve only made three recipes from the book so far, and I’ve greatly enjoyed them. It seems essential to half most of them though because the servings are huge, even for two people (unless you like leftovers for a week!).

  2. I think soup might be on my table tonight! And potato rosemary seems like a great combination, I do not have that book but maybe I can find it online somewhere, or just improvise!

  3. We had potato soup, well chowder, today. Great gourmets eat alike I suppose! We’ve been eating so much soup lately, because as you point out it’s delicious and nutritious and so darn easy (and you can make rolls to eat with it!).

Leave a Reply

