“U” is for Upside-Down Banana Nut Cake Mishap(s)

Today was a mess of nonsense in my kitchen. First, I made a batch of Roasted Beet Brownies and forgot some essential ingredients. I feared failure in their future so I stirred the abandoned ingredients into the batter a few minutes after they had been in the oven. Quick save (or so I thought)! They came out not quite right… I have no photos because they are mighty ugly.

Second, I decided to focus today’s post on upside-down cake. Mistake? Maybe. You see, I had both of these marvelous-seeming ideas mixing in bowls at the same time. All the while, I was on the phone sorting out a bill with my doctor’s office. Plus, Tim was grumbling about needing lunch. I am usually an expert in multi-tasking – just not today, a Monday of all days. Pfffffftttt.

This poor upside-down cake had some oven adventures it would probably like to forget. When I first removed it from the oven it was gorgeous! It came right out of the pan while Tim and I marveled at the aroma and beauty. And then, while I was photographing it, I realized that it was sinking in the center. I decided to cut a slice for sampling. Batter oozed out from the center. It was under-baked. I put it back in the oven to finish baking. Let’s just say it is no longer a pretty cake. It tastes nice, but the recipe needs a bit of work before I can share it with you. Stay tuned!

Upside-Down Banana Nut Cake (pre-sinkage)

And now, the winners of the So Delicious coupon giveaway! Commenters #6 (Ashley), #9 (Edhie), #10 (Jodie), and #25 (Vic) – Congratulations!!! I will send each of you an e-mail so we can arrange mailing of your prize! Yay! [Edhie, please contact me via my About Me page, your e-mail address is not working. Thanks!]