“O” is for Out to Pasture Animal Sanctuary

For me, being vegan goes beyond what’s on my plate and in my closet. Veganism gives me the opportunity to be an animal activist too. I believe that giving back to the animals is integral to my journey. While I am admittedly incredibly shy and socially inept, I still find ways to participate in animal activism. I hold signs and proudly march in downtown Portland during the annual Fur Free Friday, I donate to causes that benefit animals in need, and I volunteer my time at a local animal sanctuary. The latter is especially rewarding because I am working amidst the animals themselves, improving their homes and surroundings, keeping them happy and comfortable.

I’ve written about Out to Pasture Animal Sanctuary in previous posts. Tim and I have spent time mixing cement, shoveling gravel, washing water buckets, digging trenches, building fences, and trimming blackberry brambles at Out to Pasture. Every task is for the animals and they are often roaming around with curiosity. The owners of Out to Pasture are some of the hardest working people I’ve met. They both have full time jobs on top of maintaining the sanctuary! It’s truly incredible. With the winter season upon us, now is the time to make sure that the animals at Out to Pasture and other animal sanctuaries are warm, well fed, and comfortable. If you can spare a few dollars, please consider donating to Out to Pasture. I can assure you that the funds will be used to provide for the sweetest, cutest animals I’ve ever met. You can follow Out to Pasture on Facebook and keep track of all the wonderful animals they care for.

Here, take a peek!

Bowie – the sassiest rooster on the planet

Hamilton – loves belly rubs

Singer – she’s blind in one eye

A little goat whose name is either Sprinkles or Sparkles, I forget!

Leroy!

Have you ever visited an animal sanctuary? I’d love to hear about your experiences!