“M” is for Mesquite Powder

When I first saw mesquite powder at my local co-op, I thought it had something to do with savory cooking applications. I was wrong! Mesquite powder (also known as mesquite flour) is quite the opposite: it has a mild, sweet, nutty, molasses-like flavor with a touch of caramel and a hint of chocolate (source). The nutritional benefits of mesquite powder are rather impressive. It is full of calcium, magnesium, potassium, iron, zinc, and lysine. It is also high in dietary fiber and protein and low in fat. So, if you add some to a cookie recipe, you can eat all the cookies you want! Ha!

I made a batch of chocolate chip cookies and replaced a 1/4 cup of whole wheat pastry flour with mesquite powder. The result was a malty, nutty, caramel-like cookie. I definitely wouldn’t use more than 20-25% of the total flour as mesquite powder in a recipe though – it might be too powerful. Another bonus? Mesquite powder is gluten-free! Tra la la!!!