“B” is for Bahama Cake

Admittedly, I have never been to the Bahamas. I’m sure it is a lovely place for a vacation considering the abundance of warm breezes and sandy beaches. Maybe when my retirement funds kick in I will journey to the tropical wonderland. Until then, I am just going to eat cake and wait patiently (and eat more cake).

I originally named this Paradise (City) Cake because the ingredients reminded me of sunshine, palm trees, and relaxation. When I was mixing everything together, the lyrics to Guns-n-Roses “Paradise City” took over my brain. That’s why the word “city” was in the recipe title. Want to know a secret? I used to think I was going to marry Axl Rose (the lead singer of Guns-n-Roses) when I was a not-so-smart adolescent. Goodness! Obviously I was wrong (thankfully!!). I still made the cake though (and changed the name):

This cake is coconut-y, banana-y, and citrus-y. If you miss summer, this cake will make you happy. I promise.

Bahama Cake

Ingredients:

1/2 cup coconut milk
1/3 cup coconut oil (already melted)
1/2 cup unrefined light brown sugar
1/4 cup unrefined granulated sugar
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
1 teaspoon orange extract
zest from 1 large orange (about 1 Tablespoon)
1 1/2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour (whole wheat pastry would work well too)
1 Tablespoon arrowroot
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 large banana, sliced thin
1-2 Tablespoons unsweetened coconut flakes

Directions:

1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Lightly grease an 8×8 inch baking pan (metal is best here) and set aside.
2. In a large bowl, stir together coconut milk, coconut oil, sugars, extracts, and zest.
3. In a medium bowl, stir together flour, arrowroot, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.
4. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and stir until combined. Do not over-mix.
5. Spread batter into prepared pan and top evenly with banana slices. Sprinkle coconut flakes on top.
6. Bake for 22-25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out mostly clean. It’s okay if some crumbs stick.
7. Place pan on a cooling rack. Slice and serve once cooled.

Easy! Now go put on your swimsuit, get out your beach towel, and lounge around eating Bahama Cake by the heater.