Stuffed Pita Pizzas

I am, admittedly, a huge fan of pizza. Huge. If somebody said to me “Amy, I’m terribly sorry but the only food left on the planet is vegan pizza“, I would most likely do flips and awesome stunts to show my approval. During the early days of my vegan journey a co-worker gently scoffed at me when I told her that I ate pizza without cheese. She assumed that was impossible and nonsensical. Well guess what? She was wrong. Pizza doesn’t need cheese to taste amazing! Usually I pile my pizzas high with fresh veggies and on rare occasions I will sneak some vegan cheese on top. Apparently it’s “old school” to prefer Follow Your Heart’s Vegan Gourmet cheeses over the monopolizing Daiya. Since I don’t care for Daiya, I must be old school. Good enough for me, I an ager anyways!

My intense pizza craving struck yesterday afternoon. I was way too lazy to make homemade dough so I came up with a plan: why not use the stash of pitas Tim and I recently made for the pizza crust? And then, I took it a step further: I stuffed the inside of the pita with cheese and topped the outside with a quick homemade sauce and some veggies. It was so fast and easy!! The cheese was hidden inside the pizza like a carefully wrapped present. It melted wonderfully and tasted so good! I don’t have much of a recipe since it’s such a simple process:

1. Make or buy some pitas.
2. Preheat your oven to 425 degrees.
3. Cut a vertical slit across the top of a pita (or several pitas depending on how many you want to eat) with scissors like so:

4. Carefully fill the inside of the pita with your choice of vegan cheese (I used Follow Your Heart mozzarella).
5. Spread pizza sauce on top of filled pita.
6. Add toppings to pizza (I used mushrooms, peppers, olives, and fresh parsley).
7. Bake your pizza(s) in the oven for about 18-22 minutes. Check often to make sure it doesn’t get over-baked or burn. My oven is a demon and therefore very unreliable.
8. Cut into slices and eat! You could sprinkle some nutritional yeast on top if you fancy that (I do).

Easy as heck, right? One pita made a decent-sized serving for me but it wouldn’t be out of the question to eat two stuffed pita pizzas if you so desired. I made two last night and had the second one for lunch today.

Tell me, what are your favorite pizza toppings? I always put the same stuff on mine and it might be fun to switch it up a bit!