Giveaway Winner and 4-Season Cookies

Hello! It’s time to announce the winner of my giveaway! I used random number generator and the lucky recipient is… Kelly, who was commenter #4. Kelly’s answer to “What is your favorite vegan food item?” was: “Hmm. I’m glad veganism has introduced me to Larabars & homemade variations of Larabars. They’re such a perfect snack, nutritious and so yummy!” Congratulations Kelly!!! And, guess what? There might just be some Larabar samples in your prize packet!!! I will contact you via e-mail to arrange the shipping.

On to other exciting things: it’s finally, officially fall! Today the weather is cloudy, rainy, and cool in Portland. Do you know what that means? It’s time to bake cookies! One of my favorite cookies that can be baked and eaten no matter what season it is are plain and simple ginger cookies. I’ve posted about these treats before and always turn to them when I want a sweet fix. You can find the recipe for my favorite ginger cookies by visiting the aforementioned post. The recipe is pretty versatile. Lately I have been using a flax mixture instead of Ener’G Egg Replacer and it works wonderfully. You can add all forms of ginger to these cookies: powdered, freshly grated, crystalized, whatever pleases you most. I have been making mine huge, at least 5″ in diameter!!! Try them and embrace the season(s)!