The Heat is On…

…It’s on the street… And in my oven! Jeepers, it is HOT in Portland this weekend. I keep psyching myself up for cooler weather and then in rolls a heat wave. I have a system down for staying sane (cool) though. My essentials: (1) A spray bottle filled with water and kept in the fridge; (2) Lots and lots of cucumbers to eat; (3) a Japanese folding fan; (4) Barley iced tea; and (5) Window blinds pulled down and shut to keep out the melting heat. Of course, I suppose a trip to a cold river would be nice too (anybody want to teach me to swim?)!

Anyways, the heat in my oven was on this morning because I was baking another batch of brownies! This particular batch has been on my must-attempt-soon list and I finally got the necessary ingredients to give them a try:

Rice Crispy Treat Brownies!!! The recipe for these delightfully fudgy, chocolatey, crispy, gooey brownies will be in my book! I am stowing them in the freezer for a cold, sweet dessert after dinner.

In other funky-fresh news, I finally opened my Etsy shop! It took me forever and then some extra forever because I am admittedly lazy. My shop name is Chirp Cards and I make cards (primarily with an animal theme because I LOVE animals!)! Please take a peek and spread the word!

I even take custom orders for cards and will eventually be adding photography cards too!! Yay!

I hope everybody is keeping cool and having a super rad weekend.