Cook, Photograph, Clean, Rep(eat)

Wow, summer is quickly fading into the forgotten world isn’t it? I am totally okay with that considering fall is my most favorite time of year. I realize summer will be sticking around a bit longer, but I’m still excited for cooler temperatures, clouds, and local apples.

It’s been awhile since my last post – with good reason… I’ve been mighty busy!! Amidst writing and testing brownie recipes for my book (and eating them too!) I had the absolute dandy pleasure of working with Isa Moskowitz for the last two weeks. My job was to prepare and cook recipes from her upcoming cookbook, Appetite for Reduction, and then help with setting up photo shoots and lighting, cleaning up afterward, and eating a bunch of the food that was photographed. It was hard work but also immensely enjoyable. I learned a lot about food photography from an obvious expert and also gained a fondness for her three kitties! You can check out the photos Isa took here and get psyched up for her book!!!! Everything I made was delicious. I am hopelessly addicted to the Green Goddess Garlic Dressing, the Tamarind BBQ Tempeh, and the Caulipots. Curious? Well head over here, and pre-order the book!!!! You can look forward to filling your tummy with goodness!!

With all the business in my life, I have found myself becoming increasingly tired despite healthy eating and exercise. I am getting plenty of sleep and cannot figure out why I am so drained of energy. I’ve taken to napping during the day which I used to avoid in the past. It’s frustrating! Any thoughts or advice?

Let’s see… What else? Oh! How about a sneak peek at a gluten-free brownie that will be in my book?

These are Gluten-Free Coconut Brownies. They are for serious coconut lovers only. It would probably help if you liked chocolate too!

What would your ideal brownie be? I’d love to know!

4 thoughts on “Cook, Photograph, Clean, Rep(eat)

  1. Those photos from Isa’s book are gorgeous! I can’t wait until it comes out. My ideal brownies are fudgey and a little chewy, not cakey. They have to have that crackly top too. Not that I wouldn’t eat a brownie if it didn’t meet my exact requirements though :)

  2. I agree with Kiersten’s ideal brownie description! With walnuts or no walnuts, I love both ways. Or nut butter swirled in. (I am addicted to Sun Butter right now, so I’d probably be all over that.) My ideal brownie would be made with Askinosie Chocolate cocoa powder and Askinosie’s Davao chocolate bar cut into chunks. It’s my fave chocolate, but I would have to have someone else make this brownie for me since I use the chocolate for eating…it would be hard to watch someone break it up and mix it into a chocolatey batter! (But the result would be amazing, I’m sure.)

    Oh my goodness, your gig with Isa sounds like a dream! Congrats and props on the hard work!!

Leave a Reply

