From a Girl Who Used to HATE Onions

Growing up, I was an insanely picky eater. Celery and PB&J on toast were my staples. Onions were demons. I dissected every meal, seeking out the icky onion bits and moving them to a safe pile away from the rest of my food. Obviously as I have aged my tastes have grown to accept many lovely and amazing foods, in particular, the aforementioned onion. Who would have thought I would ever say “This meal needs more onion”? I said it Monday evening and I will probably say it again, and again, and again… As long as the onion is chopped finely, mind you.

Anyways, Tim and I made another meal from The Kind Diet:

Caramelized Onions

Rice Pilaf with Caramelized Onions

Wow. This meal was so easy and so delicious!!! Carrots, parsnips, onions, rice, seasonings, pecans, pumpkin seeds (and kale we added for pretty color and tasty goodness) make up this dish.

Caramelized Onions 2

We ate the entire batch and I don’t feel even the teeniest bit guilty.