“R” is for Roasted Squashkin Butter

3930562108_f07c8dec17

Squashkin Butter 1

October is flying past me much too fast. It’s my favorite month of the year and the temperatures in Portland are still lurking in the 60’s (the leaves are changing to brilliant colors though!!!). Wishing for cloudy skies, rain, and chillier days doesn’t seem to be working. My solution? Make some tasty Roasted Squashkin Butter. Initially, I was just going to roast a sugar pumpkin, but since there was a lonely Delicata squash half in the fridge, Tim thought we should make squashkin butter instead. So we did! I don’t have much a recipe, it’s more of a procedure:

1. Buy a sugar pumpkin (any size you want, ours was maybe 4 pounds)

2. Buy a small squash (any variety)

3. Cut them in half, scoop out the innards (save the pumpkin seeds for roasting!)

4. Place cut side down on lined cookie sheets

5. Roast your pumpkin and squash (the amount of time depends on the sizes, our squash took just under 30 minutes, but the pumpkin took almost an hour)

6. Scoop out insides and puree (in batches) in a blender

7. Put pureed squashkin mixture in a big pot and turn the heat on to medium (or just below, you want a gentle simmer)

8. Add in sweetener to taste (we added a cup of dark brown sugar and a few tablespoons of maple syrup – we had about 7+ cups of puree)

9. Add in spices/seasonings to taste (cinnamon, ground cloves, ground ginger, a pinch of salt, nutmeg)

10. Stir in the juice of a lemon (or two if you have a lot of puree), and some vanilla

11. Allow to cook and thicken until your desired consistency is reached (maybe 20 minutes or so) – make sure to stir often and keep an eye on the mixture

12. Transfer mixture to clean jars and seal according to manufacturer instructions (we used a water bath canner and processed for 10 minutes). If you aren’t canning your squashkin butter, I’d suggest making a very small batch and refrigerating/freezing your squashkin butter. My guess is a fresh jar will keep in the fridge for a few weeks. Yummy!

If you have questions or need more detail, please feel free to contact me.

11 thoughts on ““R” is for Roasted Squashkin Butter

  1. Love it! Squashkin, squashkin, squashkin! That’s fun to say! I’m certainly not wishing for chillier days though. Memphis has been in the high 60s and low 70s and I’m freezing to death! I don’t know what I’ll do this winter, but I suspect it’s gonna be a cold one. It doesn’t usually go below 80 in October in Memphis….

  2. I LOVE this, it is so super cute and fun to make! I made mine with pumpkin, delicata and butternut!! needless to say, my house smells WONDERFUL*!~

    thanks for the idea and recipe!!

  3. Squash seeds can be roasted just like pumpkin seeds! I eat lots of acorn squash and the seeds are a little smaller but taste great!

Leave a Reply

