“M” is for Meals in Bowls

3930562108_f07c8dec17

I am insanely fond of meals in bowls. To be more specific: grains, greens, tofu (tempeh, seitan, or beans work nicely too), and sauce – all nicely piled in a bowl and chopstick friendly. They are simple, well-balanced meals with versatility that can be enjoyed during any season. What’s not to love? In fact, Jessy and I have joked in the past about opening up a food cart that shares our love for Meals in Bowls (capitalized to show just how happy these food combinations make me) with everybody. Portland actually boasts quite a few carts already catering to my MIB needs, but it’s fun to dream (and remove myself from the dulling world of my office job)…

Our weekly meal plan almost always includes MIB. This week it was Grilled Pineapple Tofu with Nutty Greens over Rice; that’s a mouthful! And, it’s mighty delicious!!! The recipe is in Vegan Yum Yum, a cookbook packed full of gorgeous photos and creative recipes. Honestly, with all the new vegan cookbooks coming out (!!!!!), I am starting to wonder where to put them all. My kitchen shelves have room for a few more and then I might have to stow them in the closet or something similarly dreadful! For now, I will just worry about that later, if that makes any sense…

Tim and I loved this recipe so much that we had no leftovers. Brown rice is topped with nutty kale, baked tofu, grilled pineapples and a creamy coconut-pineapple sauce – it’s tropical and filling.

Grilled Pineapple Tofu 2

Grilled Pineapple Tofu 3

What are your favorite MIB combinations? I’d love to know!!!