Lazy Eats

It has been windy, rainy, and chilly in Portland this past week. I don’t mind it though, I love cloudy days. But, waking up in the morning becomes very difficult when the wind is howling and rain is beating angrily against my windows. I would much prefer to keep cozy under the covers and sleep a few extra hours than go to work and do meaningless nonsense. Hmpf. By the end of the day I am a sluggish blob scooting around my office in my wheel-adorned chair. So, as you can imagine, dinner is pretty essential for me. Below are a couple of yummy meals that filled me up and re-energized me too.

sammie

It’s a sammie! The components: sprouted whole grain bread, a leftover black bean griller patty, basil-chestnut-cashew pesto, agave-dijon spread, and lots of fresh spinach. This was so incredibly delicious and quick to prepare. The pesto was the result of using up some ground nuts I had in the freezer and some organic basil from Trader Joe’s. I am really anticipating local basil at the farmers’ market, but until then, TJ’s will suffice (I suppose…). I ate this sammie with applesauce (sprinkled with cinnamon and currants, because sometimes I feel like kiddie snacks). Oh, and I snarfed down a few cookies too (the Chewy Chocolate Raspberry cookies from Veganomicon). And then, I settled down to watch The Office only to discover it wasn’t on! So here I sit, committed to keeping up my blog.

tahini-miso-bowl1

Grilled Veggies over Bulgur with Tahini-Miso Sauce: Lip-smacking tasty goodness all in one bowl. The recipe for the sauce comes from the oh-so-talented Ricki of Diet, Dessert and Dogs. She is the queen of sauces (and many other amazing recipes, go visit her newly updated website!!!). I have acquired quite an addiction to this particular sauce; it makes a lovely salad dressing too. The bowl above had grilled onions, broccoli, and red bell peppers as the veggies. I might be making this a weekly staple, who knows?

And finally, not a meal, but a sweet lil’ friend who lives with Tim and I. Her name is Talulah and she keeps our many (many) plants company. My good friend Tait (thanks so much Tait!!) gave her to us a present and we love her very much.

tahlula

Cute as heck, right? She has a suction cup on her abdomen and when you put her on a flat surface, she will sproing all over the place. She’s pretty fun. I think she is supposed to be a spider (yipes!) but she only has four legs… Say “Hello Talulah”!

That’s it for now.