Mish-Mash-Mosh

First the mish:

An update on the reusable bulk food/produce bags Tim and I have been making (W.I.P. Wednesdays!!! Yay Shel!):

We found some incredibly awesome eco-poly ripstop nylon at our local fabric store. It is made from 100% recycled textiles (polyester and nylon)! How cool is that? I think it makes reducing our impact even more effective – hooray! The colors are pretty and the fabric is soft, lightweight, and easy to clean. Over the weekend I made six bags in reds and blues, and I plan on making lots more as time allows (I need more time!!!). I am considering having a wee giveaway soon, so get excited! Here is a peek at the fabrics and some of the finished bags:

eco-poly-1

eco-poly2

eco-poly-3

We have a total of nine bags (and need more) in a variety of sizes. We went grocery shopping earlier and put them to use. I was skeptical about filling one with flour, but it worked beautifully! When I got home, I just transferred the flour to another container and rinsed the bag out. Easy as! We even used one for kale! I love avoiding the rolls of plastic bags hanging near produce and bulk bins. Besides, using handmade items makes you happy, right? Right.

And now the mash:

A few test recipe photos for Celine and Joni’s 500 Vegan Recipes Cookbook:

sesame-fauxcaccia-1

Sesame Fauxcaccia (take 1)

sesame-fauxcaccia-2

Sesame Fauxcaccia (take 2)

This flatbread is delicious. I had trouble not eating the entire loaf before it had cooled properly. It’s a lovely accompaniment to soups and salads. It has a spicy kick and the health benefits of sesame seeds. Goodness all around. I imagine this bread would make for fantastic sammies too.

Lastly, the mosh

Just for fun, here’s an example of what happens when my camera is left unattended:

huh

What?

Oh! There is a new vegan restaurant opening in Portland on Friday! The above’s b-day is Saturday so I think I see a special dinner coming up soon!!!! Vegan Italian food? Yeeeeeeeeeeeeaaaahhhhhhhh…  !!!