Benefit Takes Two

Last night Tim and I attended a four course benefit dinner held at Sweetpea Bakery in Portland. Staff from Herbivore, Food Fight Grocery, Sweetpea, and some helpers prepared and served a most lovely and beautiful meal to forty people. The dinner was held for House of Dreams, a no-kill kitty shelter. The tables were each accented with a kitty knick-knack. This was the second benefit dinner we have attended so far (I posted about the first one here), and the food was delicious! I hope there are more benefit dinners to come. Thanks to Isa and all the good folks who made last night so special!

Here are a few shots of Sweetpea Bakery all decked out and ready for hungry vegans:

 

Tim and I were lucky and ended up sitting at a cozy table in the corner next to a window. I just didn’t get a photo of that or us… Oooops!

Onto the food!!!!!! It was dimly lit inside so I had to use my flash, forgive me…

Soup
White Bean And Roasted Garlic
A puree of navy beans and sweet smoky roasted garlic with leeks and fresh herbs

Salad
Golden Beet And Shallot
Warm roasted golden beets and baby greens in a creamy vinaigrette with caramelized shallots and a handful of toasted walnuts

Main
Autumn Plate
Cornbread and homemade sausage stuffed acorn squash, smoky grilled tempeh in a wild mushroom ragout served with garlicky green kale

Dessert
Caramelized Apples
Warm apples in a caramelized maple sauce, served with crisp gingerbread shortbread and topped with homemade coconut based vanilla bean ice cream

Annnnnnnnndddddd:

Housemade hot chai – so good! My first time having chai, it’s true!

The gingerbread kitties that were served with the dessert were so cute (and yummy). I was lucky enough to get two cookies, complements of the sweet Jess from Get Sconed. Thanks Jess!!!!! Oh, I mean three extra cookies because Josh from Herbivore snuck us a few extras as well!!!! I love cookies, so it’s okay.

This was an amazing dinner; Tim and I really enjoyed ourselves. Thanks to all the people who organized the dinner and prepared and served us an awesome meal!