It’s Cupcake Time

The absence of treats in my apartment leads to sassy behavior from a certain somebody. Today was no exception.

Golden Vanilla Cupcakes from Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World

I added about a 1/2 teaspoon of lemon extract to the batter, dusted the baked cupcakes with powdered sugar, and topped them off with blueberries Tim and I picked a few weeks ago. Simple and satisfying.

My First Potluck (Gasp… It’s true!)

Last night I went to a small potluck for the knitting group I joined earlier in July (a vegan knitting group – too cool, no?). My mind turned to fog when I tried to figure out what to bring… Cookies are my favorite, but savory goodness is also a top contender. I opted for these:

Pizza Croissants

-Make a batch of pizza dough

-Roll out the dough into a circle

-Cut the circle into eight wedges

-Spread sauce on each wedge

-Top with fillings (I used Teese, crumbled and seasoned tempeh, red pepper, olives, and mushrooms)

-Roll up each wedge into a croissant-ish shape

-Sprinkle with sesame and poppy seeds

-Bake in a cooperative oven (I used a pizza stone)

I also made a batch of Twisted Snicksters because cookies control the inner workings of my mind. Yes cookie. No cookie. Maybe cookie. See? There’s no escape!

EDIT: Ooooops! I completely forgot to mention the delicious food that the folks in my knit group made. There was a green salad with beans, carrots, and corn; a potato gratin;  and an orzo pasta salad with pine nuts, parsley, lemon, and artichokes (my first taste of artichoke – so good!).