The Better Bread Baker

I’ve been threatened by somebody I live with. Either I post about his “pretty dang tasty flippin’ sweet cornbread” or I get kicked to the curb. Goodness, with that sort of fear riding on my shoulders I guess I better comply!

My boyfriend works from our apartment. On occasion, he will make dinner before I get home. This is awesome because I can sit back, relax, and eat a tasty meal after a long day at work. Most recently, Tim opened up Veganomicon and prepared a BBQ-esque meal: Skillet Cornbread, Cheater Baked Beans, and Smoky Grilled Tempeh over some sauteed spinach. He really is the master of baking bread, even though cornbread is a little different. I must admit, I get a wee bit jealous when the breads he makes turn out so perfect. I think it must be his patience. I always sneak peeks at the dough rising while Tim leaves it alone until it is time for the next step.

The cornbread tasted delicious. It was moist, slightly sweet, and perfect for absorbing the sauce from the tangy baked beans. I wish I had a photo of the entire meal, but it was so dark and gloomy that night, definitely not an optimal environment for a food photo shoot.