Brekkie for Dinny?

Oooooohhhh yeeeeeaaaaaah…I love pancakes. Fluffy, yummy, and stacked up on my plate. Tuesday is always grocery shopping day for me, so sometimes dinner on Monday night is a scraping together of random ingredients (if I stray from my meal list), or…it’s breakfast! This particular pancake recipe is adapted from one that was written into a children’s book I read, but the name of the book escapes me. I am not allowed to make these however, because according to my boyfriend, I am unable to achieve “golden perfection”. That’s cool. I’d rather sit back and watch the master at work anyways!

Tasty Pancakes

*Makes about 6 pancakes if using 1/2 cup batter per pancake. This seems to be enough for two people. *

1 cup all-purpose flour (unbleached)
1/4 cup unrefined sugar (or dry sweetener of your choice)
1 generous teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1 cup non-dairy milk (plain)
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1 egg replaced (I use Ener’G Egg Replacer)
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
Maple syrup, fruit, or other toppings of your choice

Combine the dry ingredients in a bowl. Combine the wet ingredients in another bowl. Stir together, careful not to over mix. Ladle about a 1/4 cup (or more for bigger pancakes) of batter into a hot skillet over medium-high heat (or whatever temperature suits your stove, my stove is very unreliable). Cook, flip, and eat up. Or, make someone else do the hard part while you demand your pancakes.

9 thoughts on “Brekkie for Dinny?

  1. Breakfast for dinner rocks! I should do that soon. I love pancakes. I wish I could get my boyfriend to get in the kitchen and make me pancakes. He tries, but his interest in cooking extends to frozen pizzas, prep work and the dishes (at least I don’t have to clean up after myself).

  2. Breakfast for dinner is one of my absolute favorite things! It’s a simple pleasure, for sure, but a good one, anyway! :) There’s something so comforting with ending your day with a big, fat stack of fluffy pancakes. Yours look absolutely divine!

Leave a Reply

