Brekkie for Dinny?

Oooooohhhh yeeeeeaaaaaah…I love pancakes. Fluffy, yummy, and stacked up on my plate. Tuesday is always grocery shopping day for me, so sometimes dinner on Monday night is a scraping together of random ingredients (if I stray from my meal list), or…it’s breakfast! This particular pancake recipe is adapted from one that was written into a children’s book I read, but the name of the book escapes me. I am not allowed to make these however, because according to my boyfriend, I am unable to achieve “golden perfection”. That’s cool. I’d rather sit back and watch the master at work anyways!

Tasty Pancakes

*Makes about 6 pancakes if using 1/2 cup batter per pancake. This seems to be enough for two people. *

1 cup all-purpose flour (unbleached)
1/4 cup unrefined sugar (or dry sweetener of your choice)
1 generous teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1 cup non-dairy milk (plain)
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1 egg replaced (I use Ener’G Egg Replacer)
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
Maple syrup, fruit, or other toppings of your choice

Combine the dry ingredients in a bowl. Combine the wet ingredients in another bowl. Stir together, careful not to over mix. Ladle about a 1/4 cup (or more for bigger pancakes) of batter into a hot skillet over medium-high heat (or whatever temperature suits your stove, my stove is very unreliable). Cook, flip, and eat up. Or, make someone else do the hard part while you demand your pancakes.

Seeking Out Sprinkles

One of the very first things I learned about when I became vegan was refined sugar. It simply disgusted me that a lot of sugar brands are refined through animal bone-char. That is NASTY. Unrefined sugar is easy to find, tastes so much better, and doesn’t require animal by-products in the production process (plus, it is so much prettier in its natural color). I only use sugar when baking and sometimes in cooking, but I have been making a lot of cupcakes lately, and I was seeking out some colored sugar crystal sprinkles to adorn my cupcakes. After looking both online and in several grocery stores, I discovered that a vegan sugar crystal sprinkle does not exist. Some people have recommended the India Tree brand, but I was skeptical of the “sugar” on the ingredient label. So, I e-mailed the company asking if the sugar they use in their sprinkles is refined, and if so, is it refined by the bone-char process. The response? I was told that India Tree does in fact use bone-char processing for their sprinkles, but that no remnants remain in the final product.

Well, even though there are no “remnants” (eeeewwwwwww!!!!!) in the sugar, the process is definitely NOT vegan. I will be attempting ways to make my own colored sugar crystals…if I succeed, I will post my methods! I am aware of these vegan sprinkles made in Germany, but I really want a “crystal” sprinkle!  If anybody knows of a brand I’ve overlooked, please let me know! I am aware that the “sugar issue” is a personal choice for people. For me, knowing that animals suffered in order to refine sugar is enough for me to purchase and use only unrefined. Compassion for animals!